Online Now 172

Through the Smoke

The place for inside scoop on the Miami Hurricanes

Online now 144
Record: 5366 (2/4/2013)


Durand Scott ACC Defensive Player of the Year

  • ***ACC RELEASE***

    LEWISVILLE, N.C. – Miami’s Durand Scott has been named as the 2012-13 Atlantic Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year, in voting conducted by members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

    Scott (1.6 steals per game, 3rd in ACC) received 23 of the 77 votes cast to edge out Hurricane teammate Shane Larkin, who received 21 votes.

    Miami head coach Jim Larranaga said, “Durand Scott is one of the greatest competitors I've ever been around and you really see that on the defensive end of the floor. He takes great pride in guarding the other team's best player on the perimeter. He takes great pride in playing harder than anybody else. I am so proud to be able to say that I coached Durand Scott for two years.”

    Florida State’s Michael Snaer finished third in the voting with seven votes, while Duke’s Mason Plumlee received six. Jontel Evans of Virginia, Julian Gamble of Miami and NC State’s Richard Howell each received four votes.

    Scott is the first player in Miami history to win a conference defensive Player of the Year award. He and Larkin were named to this year's ACC All-Defensive Team. Anthony King is theonly other Hurricane to receive such an honor, earning a spot on the 2004-05 ACC All-Defensive Team.

    About the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association
    The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association is an organization of journalists dedicated to fostering a mutually beneficial relationship between the news media and the institutions and administration of the Atlantic Coast Conference.

    ACC Defensive Player of the Year Voting
    Durand Scott, Miami 23 votes
    Shane Larkin, Miami 21 votes
    Michael Snaer, FSU 7 votes
    Mason Plumlee, Duke 6 votes
    Jontel Evans, Virginia 4 votes
    Julian Gamble, Miami 4 votes
    Richard Howell, NC State 4 votes
    Akil Mitchell, Virginia 2 votes
    6 Players Tied 1 vote

    ACC Defensive Player of the Year
    2013: Durand Scott, Miami
    2012: John Henson, North Carolina
    2011: John Henson, North Carolina
    2010: Chris Singleton, Florida State
    2009: Toney Douglas, Florida State
    2008: DeMarcus Nelson, Duke
    2007: Jamon Gordon, Virginia Tech
    2006: Shelden Williams, Duke

    This post was edited by Chris Stock 13 months ago

    Email: || Twitter: @insidetheu

  • Congrats to Durand. There are alot of great players in this conference. To be named Defensive player of the year is quite the accomplishment.

    signature image signature image

    Lebron and Dwayne Wade at the Canes basketball game

  • which is why i can't figure out how he is not first team acc. how can you be the best defensive player and not be on the 1st, 2nd, or 3rd team!